Spring Concert?

6 Jun

If you follow me on Twitter then you might know that last Thursday I went to one of my daughter’s school Spring Concert. My teen is in Advance Band and plays the Saxophone on footballs off season. During football season she plays the bass drums in Marching Band.

I’ll be the first to admit these kids are not in way the future players of the New York Philharmonic Orchestra nor will we find the next Justin Beiber  here at her school.

While the kids did try their best and  we as parents/fellow students and audience should have given them the proper courtesy and attention they deserved. It was astonishing how rude people were acting. Would it have killed anyone to shut the hell up! To sit quietly and listen to the music, granted at times it sounded more like cats in heat were singing on stage and maybe  the noise made while  washing pots and pans produce better rhythm. But still the kids deserved a better audience!

Really,  I’ve never wanted to punch people more then that night. Yeah, I’m sure whatever was in the crack between the ceiling and the wall to your left was much more interesting than your son or daughter playing on stage, and certainly  the loud comments hollered across the auditorium were much more important then the kids performance.

I know personally  I was really  impressed by the loud bubble gum smacking and popping abilities someone in the audience was sharing with us all.

While I am a fan of being able to speak your mind and speak freely, I’m not a fan of doing so rudely or acting like a jack ass at school events or any sort of event that is to be enjoyed.

I did get to record my daughter’s band playing and have posted it on YouTube to share with family and friends. Don’t worry I wont hold it against you if you don’t watch it, but come Christmas time don’t expect a gift from me  in the mail Smile

10 Responses to “Spring Concert?”

  1. Beth Ann June 7, 2011 at 04:36 #

    Oh I am so totally with you on this post!!! Our boys are out of school and on their own now but when they were in high school especially I was always amazed at how rude folks were at band concerts, especially. I am sure the same holds true for dance recitals, vocal competitions, etc. but I even saw it extend into graduation. When our oldest graduated it was held outdoors (we lived in North Carolina) and the behavior was abominable. People were smoking during the ceremony in the stands and there were air horns! Yes, air horns. I am all for supporting your kids and showing them you love them but come on now—-have a little respect for the day and for all the work that has gone into getting to that day!!! I am right there with you!!! Hope your blood pressure has gone down by now!!! 🙂

    • pkitass June 7, 2011 at 23:04 #

      once I saw my daughter playing nothing else really mattered after that. So yes my blood preassure regulated itself 🙂

  2. fnkybee June 7, 2011 at 06:37 #

    People are assholes period. I think they sound great!!!!!!

    • Pkitass June 7, 2011 at 07:59 #

      Thanks sweetie, I’ll let my daughter know 🙂

  3. The Blankety Blank Blogger June 7, 2011 at 07:17 #

    I think they sound good! No shit! Plus I love this era of music, so it;s a double win in my book. I enjoyed ‘Birdland’ the best. Good show!

    • Pkitass June 7, 2011 at 08:09 #

      Why Thank you, kind Lady. Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  4. marinasleeps June 7, 2011 at 07:59 #

    Dude those little dudes rocked it!
    People are jerks. It is sad but some of those numskulls are parents… and thats probably the type of attention they give their kids. NONE!

    • Pkitass June 7, 2011 at 08:09 #

      Well we have to give them points for at least being there I think even if they weren’t paying attention.
      I’ll let my duaghter know that you think they Rocked (wink wink)

  5. Thypolar June 7, 2011 at 13:59 #

    (12) Use to be in choir and we attended their shows regularly. I could not the how incredibly rude the audience consistently was. I somewhat expect teenagers to be rowdy and for some of them to be disrespectful but the adults were ten times worse than the kids. As much as I enjoyed watching my daughter on the stage, we always left there angry and disgusted.

    They sounded wonderful! I always enjoy the kids shows because I am always amazed at how talented they really are. Thanks for sharing it with us 🙂

    • pkitass June 7, 2011 at 23:08 #

      Your welcome! I like sharing my very talented daughter with the world (ha ha ha I couldn’t even type this with a staright face) 🙂

Leave a Reply

