A Tiki Tiki Post

15 Sep

Last Thursday night Tiki Tiki was taken to the emergency room. All of a sudden, without cause, rhyme or reason, his health drastically changed! He became lethargic, listless and dehydrated within hours.  At first I thought he had eaten something he shouldn’t have.  Then I thought something had fallen on him causing him to be in pain.  We took him to the Vet ER at 11:45 at night. The X-rays taken showed nothing foreign stuck inside his stomach or intestines nor did they show any broken bones.  After spending 2 hours at the clinic, the first Vet didn’t seem to know much about what was wrong and could only hypothesize with several “it might be this” or “it might be that”.  After all that, with X-rays and examinations, his only contribution was to send us home with “Nutri-Cal” a gelatinous cat and dog vitamin supplement which has the consistency of tooth paste and is supposed to be high calorie and full of vitamins.  Tiki Tiki is super tiny and one or two days of not eating properly makes his weight loss very noticeable.  Seeing no improvement over the weekend and because he is very tiny we thought it best to get a second opinion and take Tiki Tiki to another vet.  

The second vet was much more helpful.  She performed a routine checkup, took vitals, executed some coordination tests and did an ultrasound.  Not being able to derive a definitive result from all her tests, and taking into consideration Tiki Tiki’s apearance and breed, she concluded that Tiki Tiki might have “Hydrocephalus”.

Hydrocephalus is the accumulation of excess cerebrospinal fluid in the brain and is not normal for any breed, nor is it curable. It’s also known as “water on the brain”. When Fluid accumulates in the brain, it compresses the brain against the skull. A puppy can be born with this disorder, or it can be caused by brain infection or head injury later in life. Chihuahuas born with this do not grow normally, often staying extremely tiny.

Unfortunately, there is no real cure for hydrocephalus. Some mild cases can be treated with steroids and diuretics to reduce pressure.

He was prescribed Prednisone and a high calorie diet to bring up his weight again. It might be wishful thinking but yesterday he seemed to have much more energy and strength. 

Instead of showing you pictures of him sick, I’ll share some of him before he got sick.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

10 Responses to “A Tiki Tiki Post”

  1. harlsmits September 16, 2010 at 07:59 #

    Tiki Tiki is so adorable! How old is he? Did they check for diabetes?

    I do hope your adorable puppy gets better soon! I love those pictures of him with the stuffed animals. Please keep us updated on his health!

    • Pkitass September 16, 2010 at 08:21 #

      He is 4 months old. The Dr. said its not diabetes his blood sugar is fine. I’ll keep everyone updated on his health

  2. Melanie September 21, 2010 at 19:35 #

    OMG this makes me so sad!! 😦

    I’ve been following your Tiki Tiki posts for a while now and my heart broke when I read this today. I hope things will be okay for the little cutie. He is absolutely adorable. I know how frustrating and upsetting it can be when no one can really give you a straight / conclusive answer. Please keep posting updates…and pictures :).

    • Pkitass September 24, 2010 at 10:05 #

      I will continue posting pictures and updates on him. Thank you for reading.

  3. Cody Blue September 28, 2010 at 17:31 #

    Im so sorry for your bad news… I came across your blog while searching for answers. I found out yesterday that my little chihuahua -Cody Blue- has hydrocephalus. Unlike most cases she is a little older (2 in Nov). I am absolutely devastated. She has shown no signs until a few days ago, she started walking as if she was drunk – leaning to one side. I obviously freaked out. She is normally extremely energetic and now just wants to sleep. Dont get me wrong, she has her burst of energy and always gets really excited to see me, go outside, or have a treat. The vet prescribed prednizone, I pray it helpsd. I also found an article from a California animal hospital (Mar Vista) that talked about using an antiacid omniprolex (not sure of the spelling) they were not sure why or how this worked but it reduced the production of the cerebral spinal fluid up to 26%. Another option is stent surgery. Cody is a good candidate for the procedure but it’s extremely costly 3-7K if not more. Im going to have a consultation next week to see what options I have and get a second opinion. If he agrees that she is a good candidate I might start a donation program or something. I love my dog and hate to see her loosing her spirit. I know you must be feeling the same, its a hopeless terrible feeling. Feel free to email me I would love to know how tikis doing, and maybe share advice.
    Good luck with everything!

    • Pkitass September 29, 2010 at 09:10 #

      I’m so sorry to hear hear about your baby. I wish you the best with the Prednisone, it seems to help a little for Tiki Tiki he also gets burst of energy and has good days and bad days.
      Let me know how Cody’s consult goes. Wishing you both the best.

  4. followthewabbit January 19, 2011 at 10:37 #

    The Wabbit is now on the right thwead. Apologies! A video is a good idea

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bitch Betta Have My Monie « All I Know Is This….. - September 17, 2010

    […] better have my money!!! So with the constant draining tension and anxiety of taking care of poor sickly Tiki Tiki, my coughing and my outrageously entertaining dreams, I haven’t gotten much sleep at night. So […]

  2. Tiki Tiki The Fearless (Update) « All I Know Is This….. - November 18, 2010

    […] Sept 9th 2010 was the first day that Tiki Tiki started showing signs of being sicky. He was diagnosed with having Hydrocephalus. […]

  3. Sharing my 2010 in review « All I Know Is This….. - January 2, 2011

    […] A Tiki Tiki Post September 20108 comments 5 […]

Leave a Reply

