Happy Birthday, You

3 Aug

    

 26 years ago I still collected Hello Kitty stickers, pencils and erasers. My favorite pastime was to slide down the stairs on a cardboard box. It was 1984 and I just had turned 11 that year. The Karate Kid, Beverly Hills Cop and Gremlins were showing in theaters. Wake me up before you go go by Wham the Relfex by Duran Duran were playing on the radio, and the summer Olympics was held in Los Angeles. It was that year that I first set eyes on her. She was pointed out to me thru the glass window that separated us. She was so tiny and hairy that I ended up saying “she looks like a monkey! I think you’re showing me the wrong one” . Never the less she was the one that showed up at the door a few days later.   

26 years ago I met my little sister, the monkey that would end up being attached to my hip for so many years. She was a handful from the start, there was no stopping her. She was all over the place, crawling and hiding in empty diaper boxes, hiding in closets and cupboards. I can still hear her screaming in delight as I pushed her down a steep hill in her stroller while she flapped her arms and yelled at the top of her lungs ‘“Mas Mas Mas!!”     

  She no longer is a tiny hairy monkey but a grown woman and a mother of 2. Regardless of how old she gets, to me she will forever be that little girl that cried to have her hair glued back on, went to church meetings with her little yellow chair, always wanted to eat something different than what was offered, and the pain in the butt kid that would follow me everywhere. 

Happy birthday you spoiled brat!    

    

One Response to “Happy Birthday, You”

  1. Evilo August 3, 2010 at 14:33 #

    Thank You! Made me remember all those things…. now i know where my kids get it from. LOL. Love You!

Leave a Reply

