My Pie’s On……

10 Jul

For the past few weeks Master and I have been watching the World Cup matches. We decided to have little side bets with Mr. T on which team would continue on to the next level. Master had his money on Germany, Mr. T on Spain and I had Brazil. I, of course, was the first to drop out of the game. Master and I both now owe Mr. T a pie. The final match Spain vs Netherlands is this coming Sunday at 11:30 so, as usual, another Pie bet is in store. 

Octopus oracle Paul chooses a mussel from a glass tank marked with a Spanish flag, next to a box with a flag of Holland, in the SeaLife Aquarium in Oberhausen, Germany, July 9, 2010. (AP Photo/Roberto Pfeil)

  But this time my Pie is on Spain! Thats what she said!  Just like everyone else around the world, I also have heard about Paul the octopus who can predict the winner. So far he hasn’t been wrong! Paul has picked the winner in every World Cup match he has called to date, including Spain’s defeat of Germany in the semifinal,  and for the final game,  he has picked Spain. So it seems like easy money to me if I go with Spain also. But wait now I hear that in Singapore, Mani the psychic parakeet , has picked the Netherlands to win over Spain.

Mani, a 13-year-old parakeet, picks up a card with the flag of the Netherlands in Singapore's Little India neighborhood, July 9, 2010. (AP Photo)

Darn it, now what should I do? It seemed like such an easy choice with just Paul the octupus! But now Mani the parakeet had to go and stick his beak into the game.

Soooo….I’m now taking bets……anyone?

.

Leave a Reply

